Horarium
  • Schedule is subject to change. Please check the priory website, dhspriory.org, for the latest information.
  • Monday - Friday

    7:00am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary & Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings & Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline (Monday - Thursday)
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass with Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings & Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings & Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline
Calendar
  • Friday, December 2

    What’s So Special About the Universe? Multiverse Theory and Catholic Theology

    Dr. Stephen Barr, University of Delaware

    7 PM, Building 4, Room 163, MIT

    Co-sponsored by the Tech Catholic Community and the MIT Graduate Student Council

  • Saturday, December 3

    The Rest is Said in Praise to God: Thomas Aquinas on the Rites of the Mass

    Fr. Innocent Smith, O.P., St. Vincent Ferrer Church

    1:00 PM, Catholic Center at NYU

    Part of the Wisdom of Aquinas series

  • Monday, December 5

    “Not in Time’s Covenant”: T. S. Eliot on the End of all Things

    Prof. Thomas Pfau, Duke University

    5:00 PM, William L. Harkness Hall, Room 207, Yale University

    Co-sponsored by the Thomistic Institute at Yale

  • Monday, December 5 - Friday, December 9

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Thursday, December 8

    Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, December 9

    Classes End

  • Monday, December 12

    Reading Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Tuesday, December 13 - Friday, December 16

    Final Examination Period

  • Friday, December 16

    Semester Ends

  • Monday, December 19 - Tuesday, December 20

    Special Exams Period

  • Thursday, December 22

    Library and Offices Close at Noon for Christmas Break

  • Tuesday, January 3, 2017

    Library and Offices Reopen

  • Monday, January 9

    Classes Begin

  • Monday, January 16

    Martin Luther King Jr. Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, January 17

    Administrative Monday (Monday Classes Held; No Tuesday Classes)

  • Friday, January 20

    Last Day to Add or Drop Courses

  • Friday, January 27

    March for Life

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Friday, February 24

    Midterm:

    Last Day to Submit Work for Incompletes from the Previous Semester

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with 50% Refund

  • Wednesday, March 1

    Ash Wednesday

  • Friday, March 3

    Grades Due on Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Monday-Friday, March 6-10

    Spring Break

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Thursday, March 30 - Friday, April 7

    Registration for Fall 2017 Classes

  • Wednesday, April 12

    Administrative Friday (Friday Classes Held; No Wednesday Classes)

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with a “WD” Grade

  • Thursday, April 13

    Holy Thursday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, April 14

    Good Friday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday, April 17

    Easter Monday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, April 18

    Annual Save the Rare Books Golf Tournament

  • Saturday, April 22

    Seventh Annual Dominican Spring Gala

    Cloister of the Dominican House of Studies

  • Monday, April 24 - Friday, April 28

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Friday, April 28

    Classes End

  • Monday, May 1

    Reading Day

  • Tuesday, May 2 - Friday, May 5

    Final Exam Week

  • Friday, May 5

    Semester Ends

  • Monday, May 8 - Friday, May 12

    Special Exams Week

  • Friday, May 12

    Commencement

    5 p.m. Priory Chapel (Invitation Only)

  • Friday, May 19

    Priesthood Ordinations

    PFIC Offices & Library Closed

  • Monday, May 29

    Memorial Day

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, May 30

    Summer Session Begins

Withdrawals and the Return of Federal Financial Aid

In the case of student withdrawal or leave of absence during a semester of federal financial aid disbursement, the student may have to return federal financial aid (return to Title IV). The amount of federal aid to be returned is based upon a formula provided by the Department of Education and is independent of the school’s tuition and related fees refund policy. The return of unearned funds are allocated in the following order: (1) Unsubsidized Stafford Loans, (2) Subsidized Stafford Loans, and (3) Grad Plus loans.

The school’s Financial Aid Office is required by federal statute to determine how much financial aid was earned by a student who withdraws, drops out, is dismissed, takes a leave of absence, or drops below half-time prior to completing 60 percent of a payment period or term. For a student who withdraws after the 60 percent point-in-time, there are no unearned funds (no return of funds is necessary). All schools complete a return calculation in order to determine whether the student is eligible for a post-withdrawal disbursement.

The calculation is based on the percentage of earned aid using the following Federal Return of Title IV funds formula: Percentage of payment period or term completed = the number of days completed up to the withdrawal date, divided by the total days in the payment period or term. (Any break of five days or more is not counted as part of the days in the term.) This percentage is also the percentage of earned aid.

Funds are returned to the appropriate federal program based on the percentage of unearned aid using the following formula: Aid to be returned = (100% of the aid that could be disbursed minus the percentage of earned aid) multiplied by the total amount of aid that could have been disbursed during the payment period or term.

If a student earned less aid than was disbursed (see above), both the institution and the student are required to return a portion of the student’s funds to the Department of Education. Keep in mind that when Title IV funds are returned, the student borrower may owe a debit balance to the institution.

If a student earned more aid than was disbursed to him or her, the institution owes the student a post-withdrawal disbursement to be paid within 120 days of the student’s withdrawal. The institution must return the amount of Title IV funds for which it is responsible no later than 45 days after the date of the determination of the date of the student’s withdrawal.