Horarium
  • Monday - Friday

    7:30am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary & Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings & Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline (Monday - Thursday)
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass with Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings & Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings & Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline
Calendar
  • Monday, May 30

    Memorial Day

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, May 31

    Summer Session Begins

  • Thursday, June 2 - Sunday, June 5

    The 6th Annual Philosophy Workshop:

    Aquinas on Politics

    Mount Saint Mary College

    Newburgh, New York

  • Tuesday, August 9 - Thursday, August 11

    Becoming a Better Preacher

    Fifth Annual Conference for Priests

    Basilica of the Assumption, Baltimore

  • Saturday, August 27

    9:30 AM - New Student Orientation, Aquin Hall

    Library Opens

  • Monday, August 29

    Classes Begin

    5 PM - Opening Mass of the Holy Spirit, DHS Chapel

  • Monday, September 5

    Labor Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, September 9

    Last Day to Add or Drop Courses

  • Saturday, September 10

    Happiness Without Religion? A Philosophical Debate

    3-5 PM, The Catholic Center at NYU

    Sponsored by the Thomistic Institute and the University of Chicago’s Virtue, Happiness, & the Meaning of Life Project

  • Thursday-Sunday, September 22-25

    Thomistic Institute Ecumenical Conference

    Ad Limina Apostolorum: Vatican II and the Future of Catholic-Protestant Ecumenism

    Washington, D.C.

  • Friday, October 7

    Last Day to Submit Work for Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Monday, October 10

    Columbus Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, October 14

    Grades Due on Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Sunday, October 31

    7:30 PM - Vigil of All Saints, DHS Chapel

  • Monday-Friday, October 31 - November 4

    Registration for Spring 2017 Classes

  • Friday, November 4

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with a “WD” Grade

  • Tuesday, November 22

    Administrative Thursday (Thursday classes held; no Tuesday classes)

  • Wednesday, November 23

    Thanksgiving Recess begins at Noon

  • Thursday-Friday, November 24-25

    Thanksgiving Recess

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday-Friday, December 5-9

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Thursday, December 8

    Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, December 9

    Classes End

  • Monday, December 12

    Reading Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Tuesday-Friday, December 13-16

    Final Examination Period

  • Friday, December 16

    Semester Ends

  • Monday-Tuesday, December 19-20

    Special Exams Period

  • Thursday, December 22

    Library and Offices Close at Noon for Christmas Break

  • Tuesday, January 3, 2017

    Library and Offices Reopen

  • Monday, January 9

    Classes Begin

Student Policies

Student Handbook

For complete information on student policies, please consult


Identification Cards

Students receive a student identification card from the Registrar for security purposes. The ID also allows students to use the library, other libraries in the Washington Theological Consortium, and access student discounts at restaurants, theaters, and other businesses in the area.


Health Insurance

The PFIC does not provide health insurance benefits to its students. The school has made arrangements with The Catholic University of America for PFIC students to participate in Catholic University’s health plan. Interested students should follow these steps:

  1. Go to www.aetnastudenthealth.com
  2. In the search engine, type The Catholic University of America
  3. On the right, in the box entitled “Enroll/Waive,” click on the hyperlink “Enroll/Waive: Student Health Insurance Plan.” This will take you to another web page.
  4. Under Student Information, click on the drop-down menu next to “[Select Program Type].”  Click on “Dominican House of Studies” on the drop-down menu.
  5. Under the banner “Secure Login,” enter your student ID number and your date of birth on the spaces provided.
  6. Press “Get Started” and follow the directions.

FOBs

FOBs or electronic keys are provided to students upon enrollment and returned at the end of the academic year. They can be used to access the faculty wing and chapel. Please see the Administrative Secretary, Miss Sharon Smith, to obtain one.


Parking

Parking passes are also available for students for a modest fee. Parking passes are available from the Faculty Secretary of the Pontifical Faculty.