Horarium
  • There are a number of changes to the liturgical schedule during the week of August 15. Please check the priory website, www.dhspriory.org, for the latest information.
  • Monday - Friday

    7:30am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary & Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings & Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline (Monday - Thursday)
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass with Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings & Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings & Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline
Calendar
  • Saturday, August 27

    9:30 AM - New Student Orientation, Aquin Hall

    Library Opens

  • Monday, August 29

    Classes Begin

    5 PM - Opening Mass of the Holy Spirit, DHS Chapel

  • Thursday, September 1

    The Problem of Social Justice: A Catholic Approach

    Prof. Russell Hittinger, University of Tulsa

    4 PM, Baylor University, Alexander Reading Room

    Sponsored by the Thomistic Institute

  • Monday, September 5

    Labor Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Thursday, September 8

    Is Faith Irrational? Aquinas on the Rationality of Belief

    Lecture by Fr. Dominic Legge, O.P.

    7 PM Harvard University, Room Location TBD

    Cosponsored by the Thomistic Institute and Harvard-Radcliffe Catholic Student Association

  • Friday, September 9

    Last Day to Add or Drop Courses

  • Saturday, September 10

    Happiness Without Religion? A Philosophical Debate

    3-5 PM, The Catholic Center at NYU

    Co-sponsored by the Thomistic Institute and the University of Chicago’s Virtue, Happiness, & the Meaning of Life Project

  • Wednesday, September 14

    Our Common Identity: What It Means To Be Human in An Age of Confusion

    Rev. Stephen Fields, S.J., Georgetown University

    6 PM, Catholic Information Center, D.C.

    Co-sponsored by the Thomistic Institute and the Catholic Information Center

  • Thursday, September 22 - Sunday, September 25

    Thomistic Institute Ecumenical Conference

    Ad Limina Apostolorum: Vatican II and the Future of Catholic-Protestant Ecumenism

    Washington, D.C.

  • Friday, October 7

    Last Day to Submit Work for Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Monday, October 10

    Columbus Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, October 14

    Grades Due on Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Wednesday, October 19

    Cultivating a Truthful Soul: The Pursuit of Virtue as the Pursuit of Truth

    Dr. Angela Knobel, CUA

    6 PM, Catholic Information Center, D.C.

    Co-sponsored by the Thomistic Institute and the Catholic Information Center

  • Monday, October 31

    7:30 PM - Vigil of All Saints, DHS Chapel

  • Monday, October 31 - Friday, November 4

    Registration for Spring 2017 Classes

  • Friday, November 4

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with a “WD” Grade

  • Wednesday, November 16

    Human at Heart: St. Thomas Aquinas on the Spiritual Life

    Rev. James Brent, O.P.

    6 PM, Catholic Information Center, D.C.

    Co-sponsored by the Thomistic Institute and the Catholic Information Center

  • Tuesday, November 22

    Administrative Thursday (Thursday classes held; no Tuesday classes)

  • Wednesday, November 23

    Thanksgiving Recess begins at Noon

  • Thursday, November 24 - Friday, November 25

    Thanksgiving Recess

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday, December 5 - Friday, December 9

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Thursday, December 8

    Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, December 9

    Classes End

  • Monday, December 12

    Reading Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Tuesday, December 13 - Friday, December 16

    Final Examination Period

  • Friday, December 16

    Semester Ends

  • Monday, December 19 - Tuesday, December 20

    Special Exams Period

  • Thursday, December 22

    Library and Offices Close at Noon for Christmas Break

  • Tuesday, January 3, 2017

    Library and Offices Reopen

  • Monday, January 9

    Classes Begin

Student Life

Students who attend the PFIC are most concerned with intellectual and spiritual growth, and the school is ordered to providing an atmosphere which is conducive to that end.

As the genuine study of theology requires living a life of grace, the PFIC offers many opportunities to grow in the spiritual life. All students are welcome to join the Dominican community for prayer, both for Mass and for the Divine Office. The chapel is open for personal prayer throughout the day. Many of the Dominican priests are available as confessors or spiritual directors, and special Masses and adoration are offered for the students throughout the year.

One of the unique benefits of study at the PFIC is studying alongside many Dominicans, as well as other diocesan and religious seminarians and priests, whose joy and dedication foster hope for the future of the Church.

There is a student lounge where students gather between classes to relax with some coffee and conversation, and the library provides a pleasant and quiet place to study.

Also, throughout the year there are occasional casual gatherings and outings planned for the non-Dominican students. The students elect a student representative who meets regularly with the administration to foster a healthy and happy relationship and experience for all.

The PFIC is located in northeast DC, just across the street from the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception and just blocks away from the beautiful Franciscan Monastery. It is next to the Brookland Metro stop which gives easy access to the entire DC area.