Horarium
  • Monday - Friday

    7:00am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary
    12:15pm Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings / Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Night Prayer (except Friday)
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings / Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings / Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Night Prayer
Calendar
  • Thursday, April 17

    Holy Thursday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, April 18

    Good Friday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday, April 21

    Easter Monday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday-Wednesday, April 22-23

    Reading Days - No classes

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Friday-Saturday, April 25-26

    St. Francis of Assisi and the Western Tradition

    Thomistic Institute Conference at NYU Catholic Center

  • Saturday, April 26

    6:30 p.m. Fourth Annual Dominican Spring Gala

  • Monday-Friday, April 28-May 2

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Friday, May 2

    Classes End

  • Monday, May 5

    Reading Day

  • Tuesday-Friday, May 6-9

    Final Exam Week

  • Friday, May 9

    Semester Ends

  • Monday, May 12

    All Grades Due

  • Monday-Friday, May 12-16

    Special Exam Week

  • Friday, May 16

    Commencement

  • Friday, May 23

    Priesthood Ordinations

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday, May 26

    Memorial Day

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, May 27

    Summer Session Begins

  • Monday, June 2

    Classes Begin

  • Friday, July 4

    Independence Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, July 25

    Summer Session Ends

  • Monday, July 28

    All Grades Due (3:00 PM)

  • August 1-22

    No Public Hours for Library

  • Saturday, August 23

    9:30am - New Student Orientation

    Library Opens

  • Monday, August 25

    Classes Begin

    5 p.m. - Opening Mass of the Holy Spirit

  • Monday, September 1

    Labor Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

Student Life

Students who attend the PFIC are most concerned with intellectual and spiritual growth, and the school is ordered to providing an atmosphere which is conducive to that end.

As the genuine study of theology requires living a life of grace, the PFIC offers many opportunities to grow in the spiritual life. All students are welcome to join the Dominican community for prayer, both for Mass and for the Divine Office. The chapel is open for personal prayer throughout the day. Many of the Dominican priests are available as confessors or spiritual directors, and special Masses and adoration are offered for the students throughout the year.

One of the unique benefits of study at the PFIC is studying alongside many Dominicans, as well as other diocesan and religious seminarians and priests, whose joy and dedication foster hope for the future of the Church.

There is a student lounge where students gather between classes to relax with some coffee and conversation, and the library provides a pleasant and quiet place to study.

Also, throughout the year there are occasional casual gatherings and outings planned for the non-Dominican students. The students elect a student representative who meets regularly with the administration to foster a healthy and happy relationship and experience for all.

The PFIC is located in northeast DC, just across the street from the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception and just blocks away from the beautiful Franciscan Monastery. It is next to the Brookland Metro stop which gives easy access to the entire DC area.