Horarium
  • Monday - Friday

    7:30am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary & Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings & Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline (Monday - Thursday)
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass with Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings & Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings & Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline
Calendar
  • Tuesday, February 23

    The Wise Restrains that Make Men Free? Freedom, Morality, and the Law

    Fr. Aquinas Guilbeau, O.P.

    Thomistic Institute and Hillsdale College

    Kirby Center, Washington, D.C.

  • Friday, February 26

    Last Day to Submit Work for Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Saturday, February 27

    Thomistic Circles

    Fr. Dominic Legge, O.P.

    “The Heart of True Love: Aquinas’s Guide to Love, Human and Divine”

    The Catholic Center at NYU

  • Monday-Friday, February 29-March 4

    Spring Break

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Saturday, March 5

    Art of the Beautiful Lecture Series

    Prof. Francesca Murphy

    Beauty and the Spiritual Senses

    7:30 PM, The Catholic Center at NYU

  • Friday, March 11

    Grades Due on Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Saturday, March 19

    Feast of St. Joseph

    Library Open

  • Wednesday, March 23

    Administrative Friday

    Friday classes held, no Wednesday classes

  • Wednesday, March 23

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with a “WD” Grade

  • Thursday, March 24

    Holy Thursday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, March 25

    Good Friday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday, March 28

    Easter Monday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday-Friday, March 29-April 1

    Registration for Fall 2016 Classes

  • Tuesday, March 29

    Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happpiness: A 13th Century Take on Natural Rights

    Fr. Thomas Joseph White, O.P.

    Thomistic Institute and Hillsdale College

    Kirby Center, Washington, D.C.

  • Monday-Wednesday, April 4-6

    Registration for Fall 2016 Classes

  • Tuesday, April 5

    Art of the Beautiful Lecture Series

    Manfred Honeck

    “Faith in Music”

    7:30 PM, The Catholic Center at NYU

  • Saturday, April 9

    The Future of Catholicism in America

    Mary Eberstadt, Michael Hanby,

    Russell Hittinger, Phillip Muñoz,

    R. R. Reno, and George Weigel

    12:30 PM, The Catholic Center at NYU

  • Tuesday, April 19

    Annual Save the Rare Books Golf Tournament

    Reston National Golf Course

  • Saturday, April 23

    Sixth Annual Dominican Spring Gala

  • Monday-Friday, April 25-29

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Friday, April 29

    Classes End

  • Monday, May 2

    Reading Day

  • Tuesday-Friday, May 3-6

    Final Exam Week

  • Friday, May 6

    Semester Ends

  • Monday-Friday, May 9-13

    Special Exams Week

  • Wednesday, May 11

    All Grades Due

  • Friday, May 13

    Commencement

    5 p.m. Priory Chapel (Invitation Only)

  • Saturday, May 21

    Priesthood Ordinations

    St. Dominic Church

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday, May 30

    Memorial Day

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, May 31

    Summer Session Begins

  • Thursday, June 2 - Sunday, June 5

    The 6th Annual Philosophy Workshop:

    Aquinas on Politics

    Mount Saint Mary College

    Newburgh, New York

  • Tuesday, August 9 - Thursday, August 11

    Becoming a Better Preacher

    Fifth Annual Conference for Priests

    Basilica of the Assumption, Baltimore

Student Life

Students who attend the PFIC are most concerned with intellectual and spiritual growth, and the school is ordered to providing an atmosphere which is conducive to that end.

As the genuine study of theology requires living a life of grace, the PFIC offers many opportunities to grow in the spiritual life. All students are welcome to join the Dominican community for prayer, both for Mass and for the Divine Office. The chapel is open for personal prayer throughout the day. Many of the Dominican priests are available as confessors or spiritual directors, and special Masses and adoration are offered for the students throughout the year.

One of the unique benefits of study at the PFIC is studying alongside many Dominicans, as well as other diocesan and religious seminarians and priests, whose joy and dedication foster hope for the future of the Church.

There is a student lounge where students gather between classes to relax with some coffee and conversation, and the library provides a pleasant and quiet place to study.

Also, throughout the year there are occasional casual gatherings and outings planned for the non-Dominican students. The students elect a student representative who meets regularly with the administration to foster a healthy and happy relationship and experience for all.

The PFIC is located in northeast DC, just across the street from the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception and just blocks away from the beautiful Franciscan Monastery. It is next to the Brookland Metro stop which gives easy access to the entire DC area.