Horarium
  • Schedule is subject to change. Please check the priory website, dhspriory.org, for the latest information, particularly for Saturday, February 4.
  • Monday - Friday

    7:00am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary & Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings & Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline (Monday - Thursday)
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass with Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings & Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings & Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline
Calendar
  • Saturday, February 18, 12 PM

    “Freedom for Excellence: Virtue and Moral Character According to Aquinas”

    Fr. Thomas Petri, O.P. (PFIC)

    Catholic Center at NYU

    Part of the Wisdom of Aquinas series co-sponsored by the Catholic Center at NYU.

  • Tuesday, February 21, 12:10 PM

    “Do We Really Need Catholic Schools Anymore?”

    Prof. Nicole Garnett (Notre Dame Law School)

    Harvard Law School

    Co-sponsored by the Harvard Law School Law Students Association, the Harvard Catholic Graduate Student Chaplaincy, and the Thomistic Institute

  • Tuesday, February 21, 7:30 PM

    “Infinity and Paradox: A New Take on an Old Argument for God’s Existence”

    Prof. Alexander Pruss (Baylor)

    Rutgers Philosophy Department

    Sponsored by the Rutgers Chapter of the Thomistic Institute

  • Thursday, February 23, 12:10 PM

    “Solidarity and Faith in a Divided America”

    Dr. R. R. Reno (First Things)

    Room 128, Yale Law School

    Sponsored by the Yale Law School Chapter of the Thomistic Institute

  • Friday, February 24

    Midterm:

    Last Day to Submit Work for Incompletes from the Previous Semester

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with 50% Refund

  • Monday, February 27, 7 PM

    “Both God & Science: The Catholic Church and Evolution”

    Dr. Stephen Barr (University of Delaware)

    Petteruti Lounge, Brown University

    Co-sponsored by the Thomistic Institute and the Brown-RISD Catholic Community

  • Tuesday, February 28

    “The Human Person: Thomism, Natural Rights, and the Politics of Prudence”

    Prof. Matthew Gaetano (Hillsdale College)

    Kirby Center of Hillsdale College, D.C.

    Sponsored by the Thomistic Institute & and the Kirby Center

  • Wednesday, March 1

    Ash Wednesday

  • Friday, March 3

    Grades Due on Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Monday-Friday, March 6-10

    Spring Break

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Tuesday, March 7

    “It’s My Right: What are Natural Rights & What Rights to We Have?”

    Prof. V. Bradley Lewis (CUA)

    Barber Conference Room, Charles Commons, Johns Hopkins University - Homewood Campus

    Co-sponsored by the Hopkins Thomistic Institute & Hopkins Dialectic

  • Thursday, March 30 - Friday, April 7

    Registration for Fall 2017 Classes

  • Friday-Saturday, April 7-8

    “Thomism, Post-Liberal Theology, and Postmodernity”

    A conference in honor of Archbishop J. Augustine DiNoia, O.P.

  • Wednesday, April 12

    Administrative Friday (Friday Classes Held; No Wednesday Classes)

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with a “WD” Grade

  • Thursday, April 13

    Holy Thursday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, April 14

    Good Friday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday, April 17

    Easter Monday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, April 18

    Annual Save the Rare Books Golf Tournament

  • Saturday, April 22

    Seventh Annual Dominican Spring Gala

    Cloister of the Dominican House of Studies

  • Monday, April 24 - Friday, April 28

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Friday, April 28

    Classes End

  • Monday, May 1

    Reading Day

  • Tuesday, May 2 - Friday, May 5

    Final Exam Week

  • Friday, May 5

    Semester Ends

  • Monday, May 8 - Friday, May 12

    Special Exams Week

  • Friday, May 12

    Commencement

    5 p.m. Priory Chapel (Invitation Only)

  • Friday, May 19

    Priesthood Ordinations

    PFIC Offices & Library Closed

  • Monday, May 29

    Memorial Day

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, May 30

    Summer Session Begins

Stafford Loans

Stafford Loans are low interest loans and the most common source of education loan funds. In general, there are two types of Stafford Loans: subsidized and unsubsidized. For graduate study, only unsubsidized loans are available.

  • Students may borrow up to $20,500 in a given academic year.
  • The Borrower is responsible for paying all interest.
  • Interest begins to accrue at the time of disbursement and continues even while the student is enrolled.
  • Borrowers can pay the accumulating interest while in school or allow the interest to capitalize and pay the larger sum later.
  • Unsubsidized Stafford loans are not based on financial need.