Horarium
  • Schedule is subject to change. Please check the priory website, dhspriory.org, for the latest information.
  • Monday - Friday

    7:00am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary & Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings & Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline (Monday - Thursday)
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass with Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings & Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings & Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline
Calendar
  • Friday, December 2

    What’s So Special About the Universe? Multiverse Theory and Catholic Theology

    Dr. Stephen Barr, University of Delaware

    7 PM, Building 4, Room 163, MIT

    Co-sponsored by the Tech Catholic Community and the MIT Graduate Student Council

  • Saturday, December 3

    The Rest is Said in Praise to God: Thomas Aquinas on the Rites of the Mass

    Fr. Innocent Smith, O.P., St. Vincent Ferrer Church

    1:00 PM, Catholic Center at NYU

    Part of the Wisdom of Aquinas series

  • Monday, December 5

    “Not in Time’s Covenant”: T. S. Eliot on the End of all Things

    Prof. Thomas Pfau, Duke University

    5:00 PM, William L. Harkness Hall, Room 207, Yale University

    Co-sponsored by the Thomistic Institute at Yale

  • Monday, December 5 - Friday, December 9

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Thursday, December 8

    Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, December 9

    Classes End

  • Monday, December 12

    Reading Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Tuesday, December 13 - Friday, December 16

    Final Examination Period

  • Friday, December 16

    Semester Ends

  • Monday, December 19 - Tuesday, December 20

    Special Exams Period

  • Thursday, December 22

    Library and Offices Close at Noon for Christmas Break

  • Tuesday, January 3, 2017

    Library and Offices Reopen

  • Monday, January 9

    Classes Begin

  • Monday, January 16

    Martin Luther King Jr. Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, January 17

    Administrative Monday (Monday Classes Held; No Tuesday Classes)

  • Friday, January 20

    Last Day to Add or Drop Courses

  • Friday, January 27

    March for Life

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Friday, February 24

    Midterm:

    Last Day to Submit Work for Incompletes from the Previous Semester

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with 50% Refund

  • Wednesday, March 1

    Ash Wednesday

  • Friday, March 3

    Grades Due on Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Monday-Friday, March 6-10

    Spring Break

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Thursday, March 30 - Friday, April 7

    Registration for Fall 2017 Classes

  • Wednesday, April 12

    Administrative Friday (Friday Classes Held; No Wednesday Classes)

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with a “WD” Grade

  • Thursday, April 13

    Holy Thursday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, April 14

    Good Friday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday, April 17

    Easter Monday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, April 18

    Annual Save the Rare Books Golf Tournament

  • Saturday, April 22

    Seventh Annual Dominican Spring Gala

    Cloister of the Dominican House of Studies

  • Monday, April 24 - Friday, April 28

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Friday, April 28

    Classes End

  • Monday, May 1

    Reading Day

  • Tuesday, May 2 - Friday, May 5

    Final Exam Week

  • Friday, May 5

    Semester Ends

  • Monday, May 8 - Friday, May 12

    Special Exams Week

  • Friday, May 12

    Commencement

    5 p.m. Priory Chapel (Invitation Only)

  • Friday, May 19

    Priesthood Ordinations

    PFIC Offices & Library Closed

  • Monday, May 29

    Memorial Day

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, May 30

    Summer Session Begins

Spiritual Life at the PFIC

The spiritual life of the PFIC is very connected to the community life of the Dominican friars, with the liturgical life of the chapel of the Priory of the Immaculate Conception having a central place. This liturgical life is comprised of the daily celebration of the Mass and the Liturgy of the Hours as well as the recitation of the rosary, all of which is open to the public, according to the schedule found at the priory website.

For the Dominican students, the spiritual formation is integrated with the academic and pastoral formation of the PFIC as well as the community life of the Priory. This integrated formation for the residential Dominican students is a constitutive part of the mission of the institution.

Because of the importance of the integration of the academic and spiritual life for all of its students, the PFIC also offers support for the spiritual lives of its nonresidential students, both religious and lay. This support is coordinated by the Chaplain to Commuter Students, Fr. John Martin Ruiz, O.P. In addition to the liturgical life of the Dominican community, special opportunities are offered for Eucharistic adoration, a weekly Mass during Lent, talks by the chaplain, spiritual direction, and confession. The chaplain also keeps commuter students informed about events of the Dominican community in which they can participate.

This integration of the academic and spiritual life is important to the mission of the PFIC, especially in light of the Dominican charism of preaching the truth for the salvation of souls. This integration is also valued highly by the students, as one lay student writes, “One of the great benefits of studying theology at the PFIC is doing it alongside brothers in consecrated religious life. The presence of the brothers lends something which simply could not exist otherwise. I am surrounded by individuals who have invested their very being to the God whom we are all striving to know and love better.”

In addition to the liturgical life of the Dominican community and the specific offerings for commuter students, the PFIC sponsors the annual Vigil of All Saints, which takes place on the evening of October 31 and is open to the public. The vigil consists of readings either about the saints or written by them, communal singing as well as pieces sung by the Dominican schola, and the celebration of Compline, the night office of the Liturgy of the Hours.