Horarium - Summer Schedule
  • Monday - Friday

    7:30am Mass with Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary & Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings & Evening Prayer
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass with Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings & Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings & Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
Calendar
  • August 1-22

    No Public Hours for Library

  • Saturday, August 23

    9:30 AM - New Student Orientation

    Library Opens

  • Monday, August 25

    Classes Begin

    5 PM - Opening Mass of the Holy Spirit, DHS Chapel

  • Monday, September 1

    Labor Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, September 5

    Last Day to Add or Drop Courses

  • Friday-Saturday, October 3-4

    Thomistic Circles:

    Reception of Vatican II in the Twenty-First Century

  • Friday, October 10

    Last Day to Submit Work for Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Monday, October 13

    Columbus Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, October 14

    Administrative Monday (Monday Classes Held; No Tuesday Classes)

  • Friday, October 17

    Grades Due on Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Friday, October 31

    7:30 PM - Vigil of All Saints, DHS Chapel

  • Monday-Friday, November 3-7

    Registration for Spring 2015 Classes

  • Friday, November 7

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with a “WD” Grade

  • Wednesday, November 26

    Thanksgiving Recess begins at Noon

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Thursday-Friday, November 27-28

    Thanksgiving Recess

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday-Friday, December 1-5

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Friday, December 5

    Classes End

  • Monday, December 8

    Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday-Friday, December 9-12

    Final Examination Period

  • Friday, December 12

    Semester Ends

  • Friday, December 19

    Library and Offices Close at Noon for Christmas Break

  • Monday, January 12, 2015

    Classes Begin

  • Monday, January 19

    Martin Luther King Jr. Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Thursday, January 22

    March for Life

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Friday, January 23

    Last Day to Add or Drop Courses

2014 Dominican Spring Gala

You are cordially invited to the 4th Annual Dominican Spring Gala at 6:30 p.m. on Saturday, April 26, 2014, at the Dominican House of Studies in Washington, D.C. This evening of fellowship and festivity benefits the Pontifical Faculty of Theology. Come and meet the future leaders of the Church: Dominicans, professed religious, and laity who are assisted by your generous support.

  • light appetizers & dessert bar, prepared by students of the PFIC
  • tours of the chapel & academic center
  • silent & live auctions
  • musical entertainment by the Dominican student brothers
  • sung Compline (night prayer)

Tickets Online and telephone ticketing can no longer be accepted. Tickets are available at the door, $150 for adults, $75 for students.

Live and Silent Auction Items

  • authentic Swiss Fondue Party for 10, prepared by PFIC President Very Rev. John A. Langlois, O.P., who studied theology and fondue in Switzerland!
  • private concert of bluegrass music in your home, played by Fr. Thomas Joseph White, O.P. & Bro. Peter Gautsch, O.P.
  • guided tour for 5 of the bell tower & organ loft of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception, with demonstrations of the gallery organ and the carillon
  • dinner at the D.C. community of the Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia
  • a week at a Key West condo that sleeps 6, located across the street from the beach
  • private tour for 10 of the National Gallery of Art’s collection of religious Renaissance art by Magnificat art essay contributor Dr. Jem Sullivan
  • 3-hour cooking class for 10 - choose from basic cooking techniques such as roasting & braising, sautes & sauces, Asian “Fast Food”, soups, or side dishes
  • woodburning from a Dominican Missal, created especially for this occasion
  • prints & artwork, including a large handmade image of the Virgen de la Soledad, in the Oaxacan barro negro style, and signed & numbered prints of Carl Brenders, Brian Jarvi, and Linda Sacco/Richard Ehrlich
  • tickets for the Washington Nationals, and University of Maryland (Big Ten) football
  • gift certificates for local businesses and restaurants, such as the Phoenix Park Hotel, Art & Soul, and Al Tiramisu
  • wine & gift baskets
  • …check back for more items!