Horarium
  • Due to the summer ministry assignments of the student brothers, the priory will not be open to the public outside of regular receptionist hours through August 7. (Regular receptionist hours: Sunday, 8:30 a.m.–3:30 p.m.; M-F, 8:00 am.–800 pm; no receptionist on Saturday.) This means for our liturgical schedule that Mass Monday through Saturday, Night Prayer each day, and Evening Prayer on Saturday and Sunday will not normally be open to the public through August 7. These liturgies will again be open to the public starting on August 8.
  • Monday - Friday

    7:30am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary & Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings & Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline (Monday - Thursday)
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass with Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings & Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings & Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline
Calendar
  • Tuesday, August 9 - Thursday, August 11

    Becoming a Better Preacher

    Fifth Annual Conference for Priests

    Basilica of the Assumption, Baltimore

  • Saturday, August 27

    9:30 AM - New Student Orientation, Aquin Hall

    Library Opens

  • Monday, August 29

    Classes Begin

    5 PM - Opening Mass of the Holy Spirit, DHS Chapel

  • Monday, September 5

    Labor Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, September 9

    Last Day to Add or Drop Courses

  • Saturday, September 10

    Happiness Without Religion? A Philosophical Debate

    3-5 PM, The Catholic Center at NYU

    Sponsored by the Thomistic Institute and the University of Chicago’s Virtue, Happiness, & the Meaning of Life Project

  • Thursday-Sunday, September 22-25

    Thomistic Institute Ecumenical Conference

    Ad Limina Apostolorum: Vatican II and the Future of Catholic-Protestant Ecumenism

    Washington, D.C.

  • Friday, October 7

    Last Day to Submit Work for Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Monday, October 10

    Columbus Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, October 14

    Grades Due on Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Sunday, October 31

    7:30 PM - Vigil of All Saints, DHS Chapel

  • Monday-Friday, October 31 - November 4

    Registration for Spring 2017 Classes

  • Friday, November 4

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with a “WD” Grade

  • Tuesday, November 22

    Administrative Thursday (Thursday classes held; no Tuesday classes)

  • Wednesday, November 23

    Thanksgiving Recess begins at Noon

  • Thursday-Friday, November 24-25

    Thanksgiving Recess

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday-Friday, December 5-9

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Thursday, December 8

    Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, December 9

    Classes End

  • Monday, December 12

    Reading Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Tuesday-Friday, December 13-16

    Final Examination Period

  • Friday, December 16

    Semester Ends

  • Monday-Tuesday, December 19-20

    Special Exams Period

  • Thursday, December 22

    Library and Offices Close at Noon for Christmas Break

  • Tuesday, January 3, 2017

    Library and Offices Reopen

  • Monday, January 9

    Classes Begin

Dr. Brian Carl

Instructor in Philosophy

B.A., St. Louis University
M.A., St. Louis University
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America

Biography

Dr. Carl earned his B.A. in Philosophy and Classical Studies from Saint Louis University in 2005. He completed his M.A. in Philosophy at Saint Louis University in 2007 with a thesis entitled “Connaturality and Prudence in St. Thomas Aquinas: Distinguishing the Virtuous Individual from the Moral Scientist.” He received his Ph.D. in Philosophy from The Catholic University of America.

Email Dr. Carl