Horarium
  • Schedule is subject to change. Please check the priory website, dhspriory.org, for the latest information.
  • Monday - Friday

    7:00am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary & Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings & Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline (Monday - Thursday)
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass with Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings & Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings & Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline
Calendar
  • Tuesday, October 17, 6 PM

    Muslim Philosophers and the Christian Middle Ages

    Prof. Thérèse Cory (Notre Dame)

    University of Oklahoma, Nielsen Hall 170

    Sponsored by the Thomistic Institute at OU

  • Wednesday, October 18, 6 PM

    Evil: The Great Accuser of God’s Existence

    Fr. John Harris, O.P.

    University College Dublin, Room B101 in the Newman Building

    Co-sponsored by the Thomistic Institute and the Newman Society at UCD.

  • Thursday, October 19, 6 PM

    Understanding Nietzsche’s Postmodern Critique of Christianity

    Fr. Thomas Joseph White, O.P. (PFIC/Thomistic Institute)

    Harvard University, Emerson 108 in Harvard Yard

    Sponsored by the Thomistic Institute and the Harvard Catholic Graduate Student Chaplaincy

  • Thursday, October 19, 7 PM

    Blinded by Scientism? The Proper Role-and Limits-of Science in the Quest for Truth

    Prof. Edward Feser (Pasadena City College)

    U.C. Berkeley, Barrows 166

    Sponsored by the Thomistic Institute at UC Berkeley

  • Friday, October 20

    Grades Due on Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Friday, October 20, 12:30 PM

    Where Rights Come From and What They Mean for Healthcare

    Fr. Thomas Joseph White, O.P. (PFIC/Thomistic Institute)

    Harvard Medical School (final room location TBA)

    Sponsored by the Thomistic Institute, the Christian Medical and Dental Association, and the Catholic Students Association

  • Tuesday, October 31

    7:30 PM - Vigil of All Saints, DHS Chapel

  • Friday, November 3

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with a “WD” Grade

  • Monday, November 6, 3:30 PM

    Reading Between the Lines: Neglected Notation in Dominican Mass Manuscripts

    Dr. Eleanor Giraud (University of Limerick)

    Aquin Hall, PFIC

  • Wednesday, November 8, 6PM

    The Drama of Grace: Sigrud Undset and the Narrative of Conversion

    Fr. Raymund Snyder, O.P. (Thomistic Institute)

    Catholic Information Center, D.C.

  • Thursday, November 9, 7 PM

    Does God Exist? An Argument for God’s Existence from Thomas Aquinas

    Fr. James Brent, O.P. (PFIC)

    JMHI Preclinical Teaching Building (PCTB)

    Sponsored by the Hopkins Thomistic Institute

  • Saturday, November 11, 1 PM

    “Angels, Demons and Aquinas”

    The Catholic Center at NYU

  • Monday, November 13 - Friday, November 17

    Registration for Spring 2018 Classes

  • Wednesday, November 22 - Friday, November 24

    Thanksgiving Recess

    No Classes; Offices and Library close at noon on Wednesday)

  • Tuesday, December 5 - Monday, December 11

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Friday, December 8

    Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Saturday, December 9, 12 PM

    The Virgin Mary: Full of Grace and Mother of God

    Fr. Andrew Hofer, O.P. (PFIC)

    The Catholic Center at NYU

  • Monday, December 11

    Reading Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Tuesday, December 12, 4PM

    The Rational Mystery: The Promise of Catholicism in the 21st Century

    Fr. Thomas Joseph White, O.P. (PFIC)

    Alexander Reading Room, Baylor University

    Sponsored by the Thomistic Institute and the Baylor University Honors College

  • Tuesday, December 12 - Friday, December 15

    Final Examination Period

  • Friday, December 15

    Semester Ends

  • Monday, December 18 - Wednesday, December 20

    Special Exam Period

  • Thursday, December 21

    Library and Offices Close at Noon for Christmas Break

    PFIC reopens on January 2, 2018

  • Saturday, April 14, 6 PM, 2018

    Eighth Annual Dominican Spring Gala

    Cloister of the Dominican House of Studies

  • Monday, May 7, 2018

    Annual Save the Rare Books Golf Tournament

    Westfields Golf Club, Clifton, Virginia


Tax-Exempt Educational Institution

Benefactors may confer gifts to us under a variety of names, including “Dominican House of Studies” or “Pontifical Faculty of the Immaculate Conception” (preferred), or any reasonable variation of that name. We are a fully 501 (c) 3 tax-exempt educational organization (Tax ID available), and therefore gifts are fully tax-deductible providing you receive no goods or services in return for your contribution.


Contact the Advancement Office

General Information:
Telephone: (202) 495-3828
Email the Advancement Office