Horarium
  • Monday - Friday

    7:00am Mass & Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Rosary & Midday Prayer
    5:30pm Office of Readings & Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline (Monday - Thursday)
  • Saturday

    8:00am Mass with Morning Prayer
    12:00pm Office of Readings & Midday Prayer
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
  • Sunday

    8:30am Office of Readings & Morning Prayer
    11:15am Mass
    5:20pm Rosary
    5:40pm Evening Prayer
    9:00pm Compline
Calendar
  • Friday, October 24-Saturday, October 25

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

    Due to work on main water line.

  • Friday, October 31

    7:30 PM - Vigil of All Saints, DHS Chapel

  • Saturday, November 1

    Atheism at the End of the Line

    Dr. Rémi Brague

    7:30 PM - Catholic Center at NYU

  • Monday, November 3

    The God of the Christians

    Dr. Rémi Brague

    6 PM - Faculty House of Columbia University, NYC

  • Monday-Friday, November 3-7

    Registration for Spring 2015 Classes

  • Friday, November 7

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with a “WD” Grade

  • Saturday, November 8

    The Artist After God: A History With a Lesson

    Ryan N.S. Topping, St. Thomas More College

    7:30 PM - Catholic Center at NYU

  • Saturday, November 15

    Therapy of the Soul: Living the Virtues in a Culture of Addiction

    Fr. Wojciech Giertych, O.P., Paul Vitz, Craig Steven Titus

    2:00 PM - Catholic Center at NYU

  • Wednesday, November 26

    Thanksgiving Recess begins at Noon

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Thursday-Friday, November 27-28

    Thanksgiving Recess

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday-Friday, December 1-5

    Course Evaluation Week

  • Friday, December 5

    Classes End

  • Saturday, December 6

    Aesthetics and Culture: Maritain, Modernity, and Beauty

    Thomas S. Hibbs, Baylor University

    7:30 PM - Catholic Center at NYU

  • Monday, December 8

    Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception

    Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday-Friday, December 9-12

    Final Examination Period

  • Friday, December 12

    Semester Ends

  • Friday, December 19

    Library and Offices Close at Noon for Christmas Break

  • Monday, January 12, 2015

    Classes Begin

  • Saturday, January 17

    Anglo-Catholic Modernism: Writing Religious Beauty in the Modern Era

    Julia Yost, Yale University

    7:30 PM - Catholic Center at NYU

  • Monday, January 19

    Martin Luther King Jr. Day

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Thursday, January 22

    March for Life

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Friday, January 23

    Last Day to Add or Drop Courses

  • Friday, February 27

    Last Day to Submit Work for Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Friday, March 6

    Grades Due on Incompletes from the Previous Semester

  • Monday-Friday, March 9-13

    Spring Break

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Wednesday, March 18

    Ash Wednesday

    Administrative Thursday - Thursday classes held, no Wednesday classes

  • Thursday, March 19

    Feast of St. Joseph

    No Classes; Offices and Library Open

  • Wednesday, March 25

    Last Day to Withdraw from Classes with a “WD” Grade

  • Thursday-Friday, March 26-27

    Registration for Fall 2015 Classes

  • Monday-Wednesday, March 30-April 1

    Registration for Fall 2015 Classes

  • Thursday, April 2

    Holy Thursday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Friday, April 3

    Good Friday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Monday, April 6

    Easter Monday

    No Classes; Offices and Library Closed

  • Tuesday, April 7

    Administrative Monday - Monday classes held, no Tuesday classes

  • Saturday, April 18

    Fifth Annual Dominican Spring Gala

Admission Requirements

Academic Preparation

The Pontifical Faculty believes that a bachelor’s degree is important preparation for theological study. Applicants for admission to the Pontifical Faculty are required to hold a bachelor’s degree, or its equivalent, from a college or university regionally accredited in the United States or Canada.

Degree Programs

Each degree program has its own specific requirements for admission:

Special Information for Foreign Students

For students from other countries, the following would be accepted in lieu of a bachelor’s degree from an American university: a post-secondary baccalaureate degree awarded for academic studies, a degree higher than a post-secondary baccalaureate degree awarded for academic study, or (for M.A., M.Div. or S.T.B. applicants educated in seminaries outside the United States or Canada) completion of all philosophical studies necessary for admission to theological study in their home country. Official transcripts from each undergraduate and graduate school attended must be submitted at the time of application.

Students for whom English is a second language are required to submit scores from a recent TOEFL examination, unless they have completed an undergraduate degree with an English language faculty. Students are expected to have the ability to comprehend, speak, and write English on the graduate level. TOEFL scores are required in the top 15% to 20% (minimum 96—120 total, or 24—30 in each of the four categories). Special attention will be given to aural comprehension and verbal expression. In the case of heavy accents remedial work may be necessary under the aegis of the sponsoring body before beginning academic work under the PFIC.

Exceptional Circumstances

Prospective students who do not have a bachelor’s degree but who have done substantial college-level work and who show evidence of promise for graduate work in theology may in exceptional circumstances be allowed to begin coursework as special students while completing their undergraduate studies.

An applicant to the M.A., M.Div., or S.T.B. program who does not have a college degree or is a graduate of an institution without regional accreditation may be admitted to the Pontifical Faculty only under exceptional circumstances, and then only through special admission. To be considered for admission, an applicant must apply before June 1 for the fall semester or before December 1 for the spring semester, and must come for an interview with the Academic Dean and the Admissions Committee.

Such candidates, if admitted, are accepted provisionally and on probation as special students working toward a degree program. Ordinarily, after the completion of no more than 30 hours of course work—which must be completed in no more than three semesters—the Faculty will vote as to whether or not a person in this category will be allowed to continue in the degree program.